Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.

ASK THE OFFICIAL

1st serve into neighboring court
by Shore Warrior

Q: Tournament play. The first serve went off the server's racquet into an adjoining court. The adjoining court players went to retrieve and return it. Is the next serve a first or a second? Does it matter when the ball is returned? In our match it seemed to matter...the server insisted on waiting for the ball to be returned so he could declare an interruption of play and get a first serve. We wanted the other court's players to hold it until our point was played out. Thanks.

A: This exemple is very easy to explain by remembing that under the rules of tennis a player cannot create or call a let on or for themselves. So in this case the first serve was a fault and the server would only be entitled to a second serve. Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2019 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open