Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.


in the wrong position
by Senior mixed dbls. player

Q: After serving and switching sides, my partner and I began play, each, being on the wrong side..... Do we finish the game and then correct ? or correct the error, as soon as it was noticed. Our opponets said we could have lost the game....... I disagee...... who is right ??

A: As I read your question I assume that you will have been the receiving team, your case discribed is one of only three exceptions to the "correct immediately rule in tennis". As this is Doubles and the mistake is with the receiving team you will finish out the service game in the incorrect receiving positions, than return to the correct receiving line-up on your team's next turn at receiving in the set. All the points that were played would stand.
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2024 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open