Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.


Windy Distraction
by Wind blown and pissed

Q: This may seem impossible, but this happened during one of my tournament doubles matches recently during a high wind. The wind was blowing, howling actually, and the umpires chair blew over. The chair actually blew partially onto the court. When it happened we all looked over but did not stop play. As the point continued the chair was rocking in the wind. (it was kind-of in the alley.I guess nobody wanted to end the point) However, as it rocked in the wind it was making a loud screaching sound, I finally couldn't take it any longer and stopped. I said that we needed to move the chair because someone could get hurt. My opponents claimed that they were entitled to the point because we did not stop play when the chair actully fell onto part of the court. What gives on this one. Thanks

A: Although it would have been best to stop play immediately when the chair first became a problem. But unlike a hat or a ball that lands on the court and stays quite, the chair continued to be a problem with a rising level of distraction you could have been allowed to call a let and remove the chair. But you could not have claimed a let for the chair problem after the point being played was completed. Must have been fun playing in wind strong enough to move the umipire's chair.
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2024 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open