Tournaments Photos Improve Your Game Blog Contact
Brian Dimsho
Brian Dimsho is a USTA certified official and the resident official of the Orange County Grand Prix.


hit the scorepost
by Cheryl Saunders

Q: While playing a match I hit the tall scoring post with the ball. It was attached to the side post of the net. Is the point still in play? Is that like hitting the net? Whose point is it? Under what rule number would I find the answer. Thanks, Cheryl

A: Hi Cheryl, The Player or Team who's shot hit the scoring device loses the point when the scoring device is in it's proper location (attached to the net post) and no matter where the ball lands after hitting the scoring device. This rule can be found as a USTA Comment 13.2 to USTA Rules of Tennis 13 Ball touches a permanent fixture. Brian
Submit a Question

Home | Contact
© 2024 Grand Prix Tennis. All rights reserved.
South Bay Grand Prix San Diego Grand Prix Coachella Valley Grand Prix
MEMBERS Sign in | Register Open Open